You Can Never Tell: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
You Can Never Tell: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
Coming Soon - Pre-Order Now

Description


Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Joshilyn Jackson, Sarah Warburton's chilling thriller, inspired by the Moors Murders, explores the twisted side of suburbia.

Framed for embezzlement by her best friend Aimee, museum curator Kacy Tremain and her husband Michael move from New Jersey to a charming Texas suburb to escape their past. Kacy quickly makes new friends--preppy, inscrutable Elizabeth, chatty yet evasive Rahmia, and red-headed, unapologetic Lena. But good friends aren't always what they seem.

As she navigates the unexpectedly cutthroat social scene of her new town, Kacy begins to receive taunting postcards--and worse, discovers cameras hidden in the wall of her home. Lena and her husband, Brady, reassure her that the cameras are just relics of the paranoid previous homeowner . Once the cameras are removed and Kacy's fears are quelled, Kacy and Michael make the happy discovery that they are going to be new parents.

Months after the birth of their daughter, Michael accidentally makes a shocking discovery about Brady's past. And when Lena suddenly goes missing, Kacy and Michael begin to uncover the truth about their neighbors--and it's more terrible than anyone could have imagined.

Interlaced with transcripts of a chilling "true crime" podcast that follow the tangled threads of the drama, You Can Never Tell is a taut and complex psychological thriller that never lets up until its breathless conclusion.

About the Author


Sarah Warburton is the oldest of four sisters, raised in Virginia, and an avid reader and knitter. She has a B.A. in Latin from the College of William and Mary, an M.A. in classics from the University of Georgia and another from Brown. Sarah has worked at independent bookstores--Page One Books in Albuquerque and Books on the Square in Providence--and spent ten years as a writer, which led her to become lead editor for UpClose Magazine. Her short story "Margaret's Magnolia" appeared in Southern Arts Journal, and her Pushcart prize nominated story "Survival English" appeared in Oyster River Page. Now she lives with her family--husband, son, daughter, and hound dog--in the mountains of Southwestern Virginia.

Praise For…


Praise for You Can Never Tell
“Readers who enjoy psychological thrillers, unique bits—like the podcasters, and domestic issues—will have fun with this book.”
New York Journal of Books

"A thrilling roller coaster ride through the dark, dangerous underbelly of suburbia. I loved the tension between these picture-perfect housewives and the twisted secrets they keep tucked out of sight."
—Jody Gehrman, author of The Girls Weekend

Praise for Once Two Sisters:
“A unique, fast-paced thriller with an utterly shocking twist. Readers will be rapt from the first page until the jaw dropping conclusion.”
—Robyn Harding, USA Today bestselling author of The Party and The Swap

“Complex and and fast-paced, Once Two Sisters delves into complex family relationships and the past in a fresh way.”
—Catherine McKenzie, bestselling author of I'll Never Tell

“A breathless energy imbues the strong plot...Warburton delves deep into the psychological underpinnings of her believable characters in this highly entertaining domestic thriller. Readers will eagerly anticipate her next.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Besides enjoying the juicy premise and the edgy thrills, you’ll feel much more relaxed about your own family reunion.”
—Kirkus Reviews
 
"A  compelling, confident debut and a smartly plotted mystery."
CrimeReads
 
“A real page-turner...I would highly recommend this.”
San Francisco Book Review, 5-star review
 
“Immediately compelling: an absorbing and fast reading experience making for a book that I didn’t want to put down.”
FreshFiction


Product Details
ISBN: 9781643857367
ISBN-10: 1643857363
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: August 10th, 2021
Pages: 288
Language: English