The Americans: The National Experience (Americans Series #2) (Paperback)

The Americans: The National Experience (Americans Series #2) By Daniel J. Boorstin Cover Image
Email or call for price.

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Americans Series series.


This second volume in "The Americans" trilogy deals with the crucial period of American history from the Revolution to the Civil War. Here we meet the people who shaped, and were shaped by, the American experience—the versatile New Englanders, the Transients and the Boosters.  Winner of the Francis Parkman Prize.

About the Author

Daniel J. Boorstin was the author of The Americans, a trilogy (The Colonial Experience; The National Experience, and The Democratic Experience) that won the Francis Parkman Prize, the Bancroft Prize, and the Pulitzer Prize. In 1989, he received the National Book Award for lifetime contribution to literature. He was the director of the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History, and for twelve years served as the Librarian of Congress. He died in 2004.

Praise For…

"Boorstins achievement is to compel us to see again, ranged in order, the whole mass of attitudes and mechanisms that arise from American difference, and to display his material so abundantly and ingeniously that we see aspects of the nations' past as if for the first time." —Marcus Cunliffe, Book Week

"This is the history of a nation 'beginning again and again, under men's very eyes. I can only repeat that this is a fine book—controversial certainly, but a courageous, learned and most exciting work." —George Dangerfield, The New York Times Book Review

"This exceptionally good book . . .  abounds in concrete, entertaining details, and in bright, original ideas about those fascinating people, us." —The New Yorker

Product Details
ISBN: 9780394703589
ISBN-10: 0394703588
Publisher: Vintage
Publication Date:
Pages: 528
Language: English
Series: Americans Series