Poems, 1965-1975 (Paperback)

Poems, 1965-1975 By Seamus Heaney Cover Image
Email or call for price


Poems, 1965-1975 collects a decade of verse from Seamus Heaney, winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature and the "most important Irish poet since Yeats" (Robert Lowell).

This volume gathers nearly all of the poems from Heaney's first four collections: Death of a Naturalist (1966), Door into the Dark (1969), Wintering Out (1972), and North (1975).

About the Author

Seamus Heaney (1939-2013) received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1995. His poems, plays, translations, and essays include Opened Ground, Electric Light, Beowulf, The Spirit Level, District and Circle, and Finders Keepers. Robert Lowell praised Heaney as the "most important Irish poet since Yeats."

Praise For…

“Heaney is keyed and pitched unlike any significant poet now at work in the language, anywhere.” —Harold Bloom, The Times Literary Supplement

“In 1938, not a moment too soon, W. B. Yeats abmonished his colleagues: 'Irish poets, learn your trade.' Seamus Heaney, born the following year, has learned his trade so well that it is now a second nature wonderfully responsive to his first.” —Denis Donoghue, The New York Times Book Review (front page)

“His is the most striking talent to come out of Ireland since that of the late Patrick Kavanagh.” —Stephen Spender

“Heaney has all the primary gifts of a poet, and they are gifts put at the service of a constant meditation on primary themes, on nature and history and moral choice.” —John Gross, The New York Times

Product Details
ISBN: 9780374516529
ISBN-10: 0374516529
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication Date: October 1st, 1981
Pages: 240
Language: English